Pleasant prospects along the Swabian Alb.
Shortly before our tour reaches full circle in Ulm, we have some final hills to crest which guarantee far-reaching views over the Danube Valley.
Ehingen's history goes back to the year 961, making it a worthy starting-point for the final stage of our journey. In the centre of town the present district courthouse dominates the marketplace, which is also the site of the town hall, built in 1713. Riding through the Untere Stadt (Lower Town), one notices the towering Hospital of the Holy Spirit. The striking timbered building is now home to the collections of the municipal museum. Leaving this town of beer brewers with its five traditional breweries, we ascend the first of the hill ridges. Quiet, gravel lanes take us to Oberdischingen, where we enter Herrengasse. The road is lined on both sides by unbroken rows of long buildings in French Baroque Mansard style. Five kilometres eastwards we come to Erbach. Even before we reach the town, Erbach Castle, built in various construction periods, catches our eye. Up and down its many flights of stairs, visitors will discover numerous salons, a restaurant and, in the cellar, a theatre. Also worth a visit is the adjacent St. Martin's Parish Church from the year 1767, its interior decorated with beautiful frescos by the Swabian artist Franz Martin Kuen. The terrain climbs several times during the final stretch, giving us fine views from high over the bends of the Danube. Before us there appears the mighty bulk of Ulm Minster, now only a few minutes' pedalling away. After more than 360 eventful kilometres, our cycle tour along the Upper Swabia-Allgäu Route comes to an end here in Ulm. It couldn't have been more varied.