A really short tour with decorative gates, sweet chestnut, climbing up, then climbing up some more, a beautiful panorama of the Danube Bend from Hegyes-tető, and an insight into the depths and heights of the architecture of Nagymaros.
Our route starts at the Nagymaros-Visegrád railway stop. The first part of it goes not on a tourist trail but the Gesztenyés study trail of Nagymaros, the markings of which are quite original, but sometimes leave us uncertain about where the path continues.
The sight of the Danube Bend and the Visegrád Castle accompanies us on the whole tour, and we come upon stunning pieces of panorama at the most unexpected places. The second part of the tour, after the first big, and several steeper sections of the route, reaches the National Blue Trail at Köves Field. We will follow this trail all the way to Nagymaros. The main destination of our tour is the bastion-shaped Brother Julianus Tower built in 1938–39. It does not have a full panorama, as the Dömösi Strait is blocked from our view by Szent Mihály Hill, but that only makes it even more interesting that we can only see one bend of the Danube both to the east and west. From here, the path constantly descends first on the ridge, then in Templom Valley, which ends at Diófa street in Nagymaros. We find the railway stop at the end of this street.
Basic hiking equipment: boots, seasonal clothing, drinking water, food. Természetjáró App (Trekking app) for navigation.