The twenty-kilometre route can start directly from the renaissance square in Telč. Tourists take the green sign towards Štamberk, passing around the Hostětice and Lhotka towns. The original medieval castle Štamberk dates back to the first half of the 14th century and it probably disappeared during the Hussite wars in 1423. In its vicinity, there is a nature reserve with the remains of walls in between granite rocks. After careful examination you can also recognize a preserved part of a high tower.
From Štamberk, follow the blue sign to the Velký pařezitý pond. It was founded in 1565 for fish farming and as a source of water for Telč. Its name is derived from tree stumps left in the water. The surroundings of the pond form a nature reserve with a typical example of a swamp forest community of the higher parts of the Bohemian-Moravian Highlands, reminiscent of the mountain taiga.
From Velký pařezitý, you can go less than two kilometres to Míchova skála (Mícha’s rock), which is a complex of two rocks, approximately 13 metres high. The calamity in the 1980s, when the forest around the rock burned down, revealed a distant view of the wider region and since then the rock formations have served as a lookout. A dominant feature on the horizon is the nearby Javořice transmitter. In the northeast, the Roštejn castle tower rises from the surrounding forests.
The way back leads to Velký pařezitý, and afterwads follows the red tourist sign to the towns of Řásná and Vanov, passing around the St. Charles chapel, back to Telč.
One of the eight Czech national geoparks is also located in the Vysočina region. It is an area that stretches from Telč to the highest peak of the Vysočina region - Javořice.
The appearance of today’s Telč chateau was directly influenced by Italian masters. In the 16th century, they were invited by Zachariáš z Hradce (Zacharias von Hradec), then owner of the chateau. It was the time when the complex, richly decorated waffle ceilings were created in the Golden and Blue Halls.
The Gothic vaults in the original part of the chateau have been also preserved. The square is closed by two gates and surrounded by three ponds. The historic core was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1992.
Telč is not referred to as Moravian Venice for no reason and is rightfully considered one of the most beautiful towns in the Czech Republic, with burgher houses bearing Renaissance and Baroque facades. Telč’s main square is inseparably associated with shaded arcades full of cafes, sweet shops and restaurants.
This late-Gothic castle, which rises above the romantic landscape of Javořické vrchy near the village of Doupě, was built by the Lords of Hradec in the first half of the 14th century.
The original name of the castle, Rosenstein, corresponds to the coat of arms of the family, which bears a five-petalled rose. The most signifiant redevelopment happened under Zachariáš of Hradec when a Renaissance hunting castle surrounded by a large game park appeared. Despite its turbulent history, the castle has remained true to its hunting origins. This is evidenced by the recently opened interactive exhibition focused on nature, hunting and game management and featuring a unique botanical hall. The Chapel of St. Eustache and an atypical seven-sided tower offering a unique view of the surrounding forests are open to the public.
- 11 Waypoints
- 11 Waypoints