Photo: Ralf Lotys, CC BY, Ralf Lotys (Sicherlich) [CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Alte Münze - Stolberg
Photo: Sicherlich, CC BY-SA, By Sicherlich (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or CC BY-SA 2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5-2.0-1.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
In around 1534/1535, the mayor and mint master of Stolberg, Kilian Keßler, had this half-timbered house built in Niedergasse as a workshop and a residence. Today it is a listed building and houses a unique museum.
Over the years, the building has been used as a mint, feudal mining office, county court and a local history museum.
The tradition of minting coins goes back a long way in Stolberg. Therefore, an original 16th century minting workshop has been recreated in this historical building. On the second floor, you can find a unique collection of valuable embossings and coins from Stolberg and the surrounding area.
The third floor of this imposing half-timbered house is dedicated to the history of Stolberg. The permanent exhibition, which was comprehensively redesigned in 2006, documents the development of Stolberg from the Middle Ages to the present day using a detailed model of the town. A separate exhibition room is dedicated to the Reformer Thomas Müntzer.