The old fortified church in Bad Steben is one of the most impressive church buildings in the Bavarian Vogtland region.
It is possible that the slim, tower-like structure, which is crowned by a ridge turret, dates back to the 13th century. It owes its current appearance to the time after 1430 or 1444, when the Hussites and then an army from Nuremberg did not spare Steben either. The defensive storey was added after this.
The chancel was vaulted in about 1470/80. The ambry bears the date of 1498. The chancel vault has capstones with the coat of arms of the lords of Waldenfels, who will have participated in building the church as its patrons. When space became too cramped, the nave was demolished in 1910 and a new church was built next to it. The repair work after the demolition of the nave had a positive effect in art history terms. The secco paintings, which had been whitewashed since 1666/67 and had decorated the chancel since about 1490, came to light. They are viewed as a successful symbiosis of figure-like and decorative painting, which is unique in any church in Upper Franconia.
Admission is free. Please donate for the receipt.
There is a regular train connection from Bayreuth via Hof with the regional train from Agilis: www.agilis.de
Service phone: +49 800 589 28 40
You can reach Bad Steben via the Naila / Selbitz junction on the A 9 motorway (Berlin-Nuremberg) and continue on the B 173. Coming from Dresden / Chemnitz, take the A 72 exit Hof-North and drive towards Naila / Coburg. In Naila turn right towards Bad Steben.