When creating your own route on Outdooractive, its details will first appear under the heading “Plans“. You can access these in your profile under “My Page“ → “My Content“ → “Plans“.
How to create a plan
To create a Plan, you can either open the Route Planner or go to “My Page“ → “Plans“ → “Plan a new route“. Now you set your waypoints A, B, C, etc. and then save them by clicking “Save plan“.
Any GPX tracks you import will be saved as a Plan.
Plans form the base of a Route and cannot be published. The second stage involves turning this Plan into a Route, which you can then publish if you want. As soon as a Route is created from a Plan, the Plan is deleted.
The advantage of this two-step process is that it provides you with a useful and quick overview of where you are in the development of the route. You can also use this feature to create a simple interim plan when you are out and about and then edit it later in detail to create a Route that you can then publish.
What defines a plan?
It was generated either via the Route Planner or created by uploading a GPX track.
It forms the basis of creating a Route.
Comprises only a title and track geometry.
It cannot be published.
It is deleted as soon as it becomes a Route.
You can find out more about how to convert a plan to a Route here.
Please note: In order to plan or create a Route you must first be registered with us.